By default, we determine the language of the conversation based on the language in which your guest is viewing your listing. This is in our opinion the most reliable and the most user-friendly way to communicate with your guests. It also presents less risk, since your guests will also be paying and booking (on Airbnb) in that language.

However, we also offer another language detection option that takes into consideration the language used in the first message sent by the guest.

To activate Prioritize the language of the conversation feature:

  1. Go to Settings.

  2. Click on Preferences.

  3. Click on the Guest experience section on the sidebar.

  4. Use the toggle to activate Prioritize the language of the conversation feature.

  5. Click on the Save changes button.

This will immediately come into effect for all future messages, except for (scheduled) messages that have been manually edited on your end. In the latter case, those messages will not be updated or change in any way.

Did this answer your question?